Is Human Fall Flat split screen?

Couch co-opP1P2P3P4

  • Couch co-op on PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Switch 2, Switch and PC; the store does not say if the screen is split

Up to 2 players on one console. Online play: up to 8 players.

Sony, Microsoft and Nintendo each list two players on one machine, and every store allows up to 8 online. Xbox and Steam tag the game Shared/Split Screen, but that tag is also used for a screen both players share, so it can't tell you the layout.

Checked platforms
PlatformSplit screenSplitCouch playCouchOnline
PS5Not statedYes1 to 8
PS4Not statedYes1 to 8
Xbox Series X|SNot statedYes2 to 8
Xbox OneNot statedYes2 to 8
Switch 2Not statedYes1 to 8
SwitchNot statedYes1 to 8
PCNot statedYes1 to 8

You need

  • PS5 One copy covers 2 players on one console; the one purchase includes PS4 and PS5; PS Plus for online play
  • PS4 One copy covers 2 players on one console; the one purchase includes PS4 and PS5; PS Plus for online play
  • Xbox Series X|S One copy covers 2 players on one console; Xbox Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate for online console play
  • Xbox One One copy covers 2 players on one console; Xbox Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate for online console play
  • Switch 2 One copy covers 2 players on one system; Nintendo Switch Online for online play
  • Switch One copy covers 2 players on one system; Nintendo Switch Online for online play
  • PC None for online play (no subscription listed)

Human Fall Flat plays two on one console and up to eight online. No store page and no developer page we read says whether two players on one TV share the screen or split it, so this page doesn't call it either way. It does give the price of a copy on each platform, what online play needs, the ways a second player can join, and the levels added since early 2025.

Two players on one console: platform by platform

Sony's, Microsoft's and Nintendo's store pages all show two players on a single console, and one purchase is enough. Steam tags the game Shared/Split Screen Co-op without giving a number, and the developer's own page says "2 player couch co-op". Beyond two, you're in online play, where every store we read allows up to 8.

Price of a copy and what online play needs (regular US prices, read 3 Nov 2026)
PlatformCopyOne consoleOnline
PS5 and PS4$19.99, one purchase for both2Up to 8, PS Plus
Xbox One and Series X|S$24.992Up to 8, Game Pass Essential or higher
Switch$19.992Up to 8, Switch Online
Switch 2 Edition$19.99, Upgrade Pack $4.992Up to 8, Switch Online
PC (Steam)$19.99Category listed, no countUp to 8, no subscription

Steam showed 70% off, $5.99, on 3 Nov 2026; the table uses the regular price.

Sources: PlayStation Store: Human: Fall Flat PS4 & PS5, read 3 Nov 2026; Xbox Store: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026; Nintendo eShop US: Human: Fall Flat (Switch), read 3 Nov 2026; Nintendo eShop US: Human Fall Flat, Nintendo Switch 2 Edition, read 3 Nov 2026; Steam: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026; No Brakes Games: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026.

Does the screen split? What the pages leave open

Xbox and Steam both label the game Shared/Split Screen. That label also covers a screen shared by both players, so it can't answer the question alone, and the same rule applies across this site. The eShop says "Play together on one console", PlayStation says "1 - 2 players", and the developer says "2 player couch co-op". None of them says how the picture is drawn.

The three store screenshots we saved show the characters sharing one view, and none shows a divided frame. A screenshot can't show the mode either way, and we haven't played the game, so the row stays "not stated" until an official page or image names the layout.

Sources: Xbox Store: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026; Steam: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026; Nintendo eShop US: Human: Fall Flat (Switch), read 3 Nov 2026; PlayStation Store: Human: Fall Flat PS4 & PS5, read 3 Nov 2026; No Brakes Games: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026.

Ways to get a second player in

The store pages describe six routes. None of them gives menu steps, so each line says what the route needs and where it is listed.

  • Same console: two players and one copy on PS5, PS4, Xbox, Switch or Switch 2. Steam gives the tag with no player count.
  • Online lobby: up to 8 players. PS Plus on PlayStation, Xbox Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate on Xbox, Nintendo Switch Online on Switch. Steam lists no subscription.
  • Xbox crossplay: the Xbox description says crossplay with friends on Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S and Windows 10. The PlayStation, Nintendo and Steam pages are silent on crossplay, so this page claims it for Xbox only.
  • Steam Remote Play Together: listed on the Steam page. It is Steam's feature for playing a game's local multiplayer over the internet. We haven't tested it with this game.
  • Switch 2 GameShare: the Switch 2 Edition page offers it as a way to bring in a player who has no copy of the game, and adds GameChat for audio and video.
  • Switch local wireless: the eShop lists local wireless play for up to 8 players on multiple consoles, on both the Switch and Switch 2 Edition pages.

Sources: Xbox Store: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026; Steam: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026; Nintendo eShop US: Human: Fall Flat (Switch), read 3 Nov 2026; Nintendo eShop US: Human Fall Flat, Nintendo Switch 2 Edition, read 3 Nov 2026; PlayStation Store: Human: Fall Flat PS4 & PS5, read 3 Nov 2026.

Limits to know before you buy

Two is the ceiling on one console. The only local number above two is the Switch family's local wireless mode, which needs several consoles.

  • Level counts differ by store text. The Switch page says "25 unique worlds", the PlayStation and Xbox pages say "31 great levels", and the Switch 2 Edition page says "more than 31" and names five levels that come with that edition. A Steam post from 14 Sep 2026 calls Jail the 34th level, so some of those counts are out of date.
  • The Steam Workshop, with more than 5,000 community levels according to Curve, is Steam only. Curve describes it as "unique to Steam".
  • Switch players can back up saves with Nintendo's Save Data Cloud, which the eShop lists for both editions and which needs Nintendo Switch Online.
  • We found no page saying whether two players on one console can also join an online lobby together.
  • Human Fall Flat VR is a separate release with its own store pages. Everything on this page is about the standard game.
  • Xbox rates the game ESRB Everyone and PEGI 3, and flags that players can interact online.

Sources: Nintendo eShop US: Human: Fall Flat (Switch), read 3 Nov 2026; Nintendo eShop US: Human Fall Flat, Nintendo Switch 2 Edition, read 3 Nov 2026; PlayStation Store: Human: Fall Flat PS4 & PS5, read 3 Nov 2026; Xbox Store: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026; Curve Games: Human Fall Flat, read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Human Fall Flat: a brand-new level, Jail (14 Sep 2026), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Human Fall Flat: VR launches on 31st October (4 Oct 2024), read 3 Nov 2026.

Levels and updates since early 2025

Studio and publisher news is posted on Steam. These are the entries since March 2025 that add something to play.

Steam announcements, newest first
DateWhat shipped
29 Oct 2026Four free skins: Bigfoot, Alien, Wizard and Snake Head
14 Sep 2026Jail, a free level made with Roblox's Barry's Prison Run; the post counts it as the 34th level
22 Jul 2026A free level for the game's 10th anniversary
5 Mar 2026A free Viking level with Dave the Diver as a guest
15 Sep 2025Steampunk Party, a level with Party Animals' Nemo and Otta, plus new Workshop tools
1 Aug 2025Test Chamber, the 30th official level
13 Mar 2025Candyland, which brought the count to 29 official levels

These are Steam announcements. They don't say when each console gets the same level, so check the console store listing for its current level count. Problems with the game go to Curve through the contact page that the Steam page lists.

Sources: Steam news, Human Fall Flat: Get Your Costume On (29 Oct 2026), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Human Fall Flat: a brand-new level, Jail (14 Sep 2026), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Human Fall Flat: 10th Anniversary Celebration (22 Jul 2026), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Human Fall Flat: New free level, Viking featuring Dave the Diver (5 Mar 2026), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Human Fall Flat: Steampunk Party (15 Sep 2025), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Human Fall Flat: Workshop overhaul (15 Sep 2025), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Human Fall Flat: Test Chamber (1 Aug 2025), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Human Fall Flat: Candyland (13 Mar 2025), read 3 Nov 2026.

Four on one screen, with the split named

Each of these names split screen on a store page we read on 1 or 2 Nov 2026.

  • Wobbly LifeYes

    An open-world physics sandbox, in Steam's wording, with more seats on one console. Store text names local split-screen co-op: up to 4 on PS5 and Switch 2, up to 2 on PS4 and Switch.

  • MinecraftYes

    For four on one console: the PS5, Xbox and Switch 2 pages give up to 4 local players and name split screen.

  • It Takes TwoYes

    For two players who want puzzles and a story. Its store pages name split screen; the game page says which platforms.

Questions people search for

Is Human Fall Flat split screen?

Nothing we read answers that. PlayStation, Xbox, Switch and Switch 2 list two players on one console, and Xbox and Steam tag the game Shared/Split Screen, a tag that also fits a shared screen. Until an official page or image shows the layout, we file it as couch co-op, split screen not stated.

Does Human Fall Flat have local co-op?

Yes, for two. The PlayStation page reads 1 - 2 players, Xbox gives local multiplayer 2 to 2, the eShop gives Single system 1 to 2, and the developer's own page says "2 player couch co-op". Steam gives the Shared/Split Screen Co-op tag with no number. To play with more than two, go online (up to 8).

How many players can share one console in Human Fall Flat?

Two. Online play goes up to 8 on every platform we read, and the Switch pages add local wireless for 8 across several consoles.

Does Human Fall Flat have couch co-op on PS5?

Yes, for two. The PlayStation page is a single $19.99 purchase covering the PS4 and PS5 versions, with 1 - 2 players listed and up to 8 online with PS Plus.

Is Human Fall Flat cross platform?

Only Xbox says so: its description reads "Crossplay with friends on Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S and Windows 10". The PlayStation, Nintendo and Steam pages don't mention crossplay, so we don't claim it for them.

Screenshots

Official store images

What the pages say

Still open

Sources

No Brakes Games, published by Curve Games. Released 22 Jul 2016.