Is Bread & Fred split screen?
Couch co-opP1P2P3P4
- Couch co-op on PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Switch and PC; the store does not say if the screen is split
Up to 2 players on one console. Online play: up to 2 players.
A two-player climbing game: one copy seats both players on a single console, and the stores give online play as 2. Xbox and Steam tag it Shared/Split Screen, but that tag also fits a screen both players share, so it can't tell you the layout.
| Platform | Split screenSplit | Couch playCouch | Online |
|---|---|---|---|
| PS5 | Not stated | Yes | 1 to 2 |
| PS4 | Not stated | Yes | 1 to 2 |
| Xbox Series X|S | Not stated | Yes | 2 |
| Xbox One | Not stated | Yes | 2 |
| Switch | Not stated | Yes | 1 to 2 |
| PC | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
You need
- PS5 One copy covers 2 players on one console; the listing is for PS4 and PS5; PS Plus for online play
- PS4 One copy covers 2 players on one console; the listing is for PS4 and PS5; PS Plus for online play
- Xbox Series X|S One copy covers 2 players on one console; Xbox Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate for online console play
- Xbox One One copy covers 2 players on one console; Xbox Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate for online console play
- Switch One copy covers 2 players on one system; Nintendo Switch Online for online play
- PC None for online play (no subscription listed)
Bread & Fred is a two-penguin climbing game, and every store gives it two seats on one console. No store page and no studio post we read says whether the screen is split, so this page doesn't say either. It covers what a copy costs per platform, the online steps as Sand Castles wrote them, and the patches that touched multiplayer.
Two players on one console or PC
Sony's, Microsoft's and Nintendo's store pages all show two players on a single console, and one purchase covers both. Steam tags the game Shared/Split Screen Co-op, and Sand Castles wrote a week before launch that "the game supports two-player mode from the same PC".
The penguins are tied together with a rope. The store text says that if neither of you anchors to the ground, both fall. Playing alone is possible too: the single-player mode ties the rope to a rock called Jeff.
| Platform | Copy | One console | Online |
|---|---|---|---|
| PS5 and PS4 | $14.99 | 2 | 2, PS Plus |
| Xbox One and Series X|S | $14.99 | 2 | 2, Game Pass Essential or higher |
| Switch | $14.99 | 2 | 2, Switch Online |
| PC (Steam) | $14.99 | Category listed, no count | 2, no subscription |
Steam showed 60% off, $5.99, on 3 Nov 2026; the table uses the regular price. Release dates differ by store: Steam 23 May 2023, Switch 23 May 2024, PlayStation and Xbox 24 Feb 2026.
Sources: PlayStation Store: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; Xbox Store: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; Nintendo eShop US: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; Steam: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Regarding Online Multiplayer (17 May 2023), read 3 Nov 2026.
Does the screen split? What the pages leave open
Xbox and Steam both label the game Shared/Split Screen. That label also covers a screen shared by both players, so it can't answer the question alone. Nintendo says Single system (1-2), PlayStation says "1 - 2 players", and Sand Castles' posts never describe the camera.
The three Xbox screenshots we saved show both penguins in one view, with no divided frame. A screenshot can't settle the mode, and we haven't played the game, so this stays "not stated" until an official page names it.
Sources: Xbox Store: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; Steam: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; Nintendo eShop US: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; PlayStation Store: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Regarding Online Multiplayer (17 May 2023), read 3 Nov 2026.
Online play: the code route
Online play wasn't ready at launch. Sand Castles said so on 17 May 2023 and shipped it on 30 Jun 2023 in the Together But Further update. Its pinned Steam forum post of 4 Jun 2024 lists the steps below. The post predates the PlayStation and Xbox versions, so we can't say the console menus match it.
- The host picks a save file, goes to Multiplayer and chooses Host Online. The host can't pick a character until the friend has joined.
- The friend picks a file, goes to Multiplayer and chooses Join Online.
- The friend types the code shown at the top of the host's screen.
- Once the code is accepted, both usernames appear at the top left and each player picks a character.
The same post adds two details. Steam invites no longer work: the studio replaced them with the in-game code "to allow for online cross-platform" play. And the host has to allow the game through the firewall when Windows asks. An "Incorrect code" message can appear even when the code is right; the post says to enter it again.
Before online play existed, the route was Steam Remote Play Together, which is still listed on the Steam page. The studio's May 2023 note says to press Shift+Tab after starting the game through Remote Play, invite the friend from the Steam overlay, and give the guest keyboard access from the option next to their name. It also warned that delay and lost performance grow with the distance between players.
Sources: Sand Castles Studio, pinned Steam forum post: HOW TO PLAY ONLINE (4 Jun 2024), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Regarding Online Multiplayer (17 May 2023), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Remote Play Assistance (24 May 2023), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Online Multiplayer Is Here! (30 Jun 2023), read 3 Nov 2026.
Limits and known problems
Two is the cap. Every store that gives a number says 2, on one console and online. There is no third seat.
Online has been the weak spot. Sand Castles wrote in Aug 2023 that some players had connection problems and others extreme ping, and said it was working on a rework of the online system. In Sep 2025 it said it was still working on "an online patch that should solve the connection issues". On 7 Jan 2026 it wrote that it had been investigating the problem "for a long time" and asked players to send their Player.log file.
- No store page says which platforms can play online together. The Xbox listing tags cross-generation multiplayer, meaning Xbox One with Series X|S. The studio's 2024 post mentions cross-platform online play without naming the pairs and predates the PlayStation and Xbox releases, so confirm before buying a copy for a friend on another system.
- The Switch page says the game does not support Save Data Cloud backup. The Xbox listing includes cloud saves. The Steam category list doesn't include Steam Cloud.
- Xbox rates the game ESRB Everyone and PEGI 3.
Sources: Steam news, Bread & Fred: Online Multiplayer Fix (26 Aug 2023), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Achievements fixed! (10 Sep 2025), read 3 Nov 2026; Sand Castles Studio, pinned Steam forum post: MULTIPLAYER ISSUES (7 Jan 2026), read 3 Nov 2026; Sand Castles Studio, pinned Steam forum post: HOW TO PLAY ONLINE (4 Jun 2024), read 3 Nov 2026; Xbox Store: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; Nintendo eShop US: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026; Steam: Bread & Fred, read 3 Nov 2026.
Patch notes that touched multiplayer
From the studio's Steam news and pinned posts. Dates are the day each was posted.
| Date | What the post says |
|---|---|
| 30 Jun 2023 | Online peer-to-peer multiplayer added, with mouse support and five single-player skins |
| 3 Jul 2023 | Fixes for not being able to join a friend's game (the studio wasn't sure it was fully fixed), for jumps failing in local games, and for pulling the rope moving a partner who was anchored |
| 26 Aug 2023 | The studio announces a mini-rework of the online system after reports of connection errors and high ping |
| 3 Jun 2024 | Fixes for a random "wrong code" error when typing the code, and the multiplayer pop-up now works with the mouse |
| 21 Aug 2024 | Changed how player connections are established, to give fewer errors |
| 8 Mar 2025 | The Laboratory Update, free: a parallel map of more than 600 extra meters, unlocked after finishing the base game; PS5 and Xbox Series X|S versions announced for spring |
| 10 Sep 2025 | Achievement fixes; the studio says an online patch for the connection issues is still in progress |
| 10 Jan 2026 | A small update that shows error messages and captures logs, which players can send to Atari support or the Atari Club Discord |
For online trouble the studio's own channels are the Steam forum post of 7 Jan 2026, which asks for the Player.log file in the game's AppData folder, and the Atari contact options named in the January 2026 update.
Sources: Steam news, Bread & Fred: Online Multiplayer Is Here! (30 Jun 2023), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Online Fix Patch! (3 Jul 2023), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Online Multiplayer Fix (26 Aug 2023), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: More bug fixing! (3 Jun 2024), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Small conection fix (21 Aug 2024), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: The Laboratory Update (8 Mar 2025), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Achievements fixed! (10 Sep 2025), read 3 Nov 2026; Steam news, Bread & Fred: Error Message and Capture Logs (10 Jan 2026), read 3 Nov 2026; Sand Castles Studio, pinned Steam forum post: MULTIPLAYER ISSUES (7 Jan 2026), read 3 Nov 2026.
Two-player games that name split screen
Each of these names split screen on a store page we read on 1 or 2 Nov 2026.
-
It Takes TwoYes
Another co-op platformer built for exactly two players. Its store pages name split screen; the game page says which platforms.
-
Split FictionYes
Two players, split screen named on PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Switch 2 and PC, and a free Friend's Pass for the second player online.
-
Wobbly LifeYes
A looser option for an evening with up to 4. Store text names local split-screen co-op: up to 4 on PS5 and Switch 2, up to 2 on PS4 and Switch.
Questions people search for
Is Bread & Fred couch co-op?
Yes, for two players. The PlayStation page reads 1 - 2 players, Xbox gives local co-op 2 to 2, the eShop gives Single system 1 to 2, and Steam tags it Shared/Split Screen Co-op. One copy seats both.
Is Bread & Fred split screen?
Not stated. No store page and no studio post we read says whether the screen is split or shared, and the Xbox and Steam tags fit either. We file it as couch co-op, split screen not stated.
Can Bread & Fred be played on the same computer?
Yes. Steam tags it Shared/Split Screen Co-op and gives full controller support, and Sand Castles wrote that "the game supports two-player mode from the same PC". Steam also lists Remote Play Together, for a friend who isn't in the room.
Is Bread & Fred cross platform?
No store page lists crossplay. The studio's June 2024 Steam post says it dropped Steam invites for an in-game code "to allow for online cross-platform" play but doesn't name the platform pairs, and it predates the PlayStation and Xbox releases. Check before buying a second copy on a different system.
Screenshots
Official store images
Two penguins on an ice platform in a climbing levelXbox Store screenshot
The penguins meet a polar bear character, with a dialogue boxXbox Store screenshot
The penguins talking with a dialogue box in a snowy levelXbox Store screenshot
What the pages say
- PlayStation Store (read 2026-11-03): $14.99, "1 - 2 players", "Supports up to 2 online players with PS Plus", "Online play optional", "Remote Play supported". The listing covers PS4 and PS5 and gives a release date of 2/24/2026.
- Xbox Store catalog (read 2026-11-03): $14.99, local co-op 2 to 2, online co-op 2 to 2, Shared/split screen label, cross-generation multiplayer, cloud saves, Smart Delivery; original release date 24 Feb 2026. Online console multiplayer needs Xbox Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate. Rated ESRB Everyone and PEGI 3.
- Nintendo eShop US (read 2026-11-03): $14.99, Single system 1 to 2, Online 1 to 2, tag "Play together on one console", released 23 May 2024. Online play needs Nintendo Switch Online. The page says the game "does not support Save Data Cloud backup". Nintendo lists it as playable on Switch 2 with behavior consistent with Switch.
- Steam (read 2026-11-03): $14.99 regular, $5.99 at 60% off that day. Tags include Co-op, Online Co-op, Shared/Split Screen Co-op, Remote Play Together and full controller support. Released 23 May 2023.
- Sand Castles Studio on Steam, 17 May 2023: "the game supports two-player mode from the same PC". The single-player mode ties the rope to a rock named Jeff.
Still open
- Whether co-op on one console splits the screen: no store or official page we read says, and none of the three store screenshots we saved shows a divided frame.
- Which platforms can play online together: no store page lists crossplay.
Sources
- PlayStation Store: Bread & Fred
- Xbox Store: Bread & Fred
- Nintendo eShop US: Bread & Fred
- Steam: Bread & Fred
- Sand Castles Studio, pinned Steam forum post: HOW TO PLAY ONLINE (4 Jun 2024)
- Sand Castles Studio, pinned Steam forum post: MULTIPLAYER ISSUES (7 Jan 2026)
- Steam news, Bread & Fred: Regarding Online Multiplayer (17 May 2023)
- Steam news, Bread & Fred: Error Message and Capture Logs (10 Jan 2026)
